UK Audi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, newbie here...(I will post in teh newbie section and say hi when I get a mo....)

I've been looking through the posts on here and i'm getting myself a bit confused... heres the problem,

I've got an A3 Tdi sport 8P (53plate with a remap). When im driving along a dual carriage way or motorway and overtake (or just accelerate) the car will all of a sudden lose power, this usually happens at high speed or when im hard on boost (pulling onto/overtaking on the motorway).

If I pull over and switch the ignition off and restart, the car is fine. Its done this several times now and the last time as I pulled away it seemed to hesitate just under 2k and a slight jolt just after...cloud of black smoke and it then felt like it did when I first had the car (it was mapped when I bought it and went from a Mk3 8v golf to the mapped A3, so it felt bloody fast lol) It hasn't cut out since, although ive been driving it mostly under 3k, not good when you want a play though ;o)

Some of the post suggest its the turbo going/on the way out and others point to other things first, boost pipes, intercooler etc. During the service it was pointed out that I had an intercooler seal leaking which is being sorted in the next week or so.

Am I looking at a big bill? Is there other thing I can try?

regards

phatboy.....

·
Registered
4,874 Posts
First of all mate, welcome!
Now it needs a scan with vagcom. But what you are describing is a classic case of an overboosting turbo. You see the variable vanes get clogged and causes the turbo to create too much boost pressure, which the ecu recognizes and then shuts the car down to a limp home mode.
The vanes can be cleaned using a product from innotec, and you can manually move the actuator to try and free the vanes, but if the clean doesn't work, it means a turbo recondition or renewal.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·