UK Audi Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all just joined up and have a yellow a3 1.8t with what looks like full factory options(more about that in the right section later)

I have a problem,its a 98 agu standard tune.

I have had lots of turbo cars before so understand the mechanicals,and am a mechanic by trade,just after some 1.8t specifics please,oh and i dont have vag com or know anyone with it as yet :(

Now the problem,basically when i bought the car it seems flat to drive,put a guage on it and got around 0.3/0.4 bar at a push with no overboost ,tried powering up the n75 and no click,so guessing its dead?

Ok i though that wont help so tried a mbc to test before i replace it,nothing?

ok so maybe its the bov,blocked up both ends and the vac hose,no diffference,checked the air filter,clean?

ok so i then thought id change the fuel filter,slight improvement but not alot just a bit smoother?

then thought id try in case the mbc was faulty,so unplugged the waste gate completely just to test,now iirc a unregulted k03 should make 22-25psi max?

i got 7psi!? thats it,flat out 7psi,you hear the turbo spool from 1500ish rpm,but you get no real turbo pull until around 3k with foot on the floor,and 3rd/4th it feels virtually boostless although a gauge says 6/7psi still

i have reinforced the tip in case of collapse no different,cleaned the maf,cleaned the throttle body,etc,only prob left is a tiny blow where the downpipe meets the turbo,(NOT where the turbo meets manifold )so shouldnt affect boost really.

Do these suffer from boost leaks much ONLY on boost and not vacuum as vac is nearly 1 bar on overun and no stalling/hunting?

Ive had 2 before and been fine and a revod a4 with k03s so know how it should go,but 7psi on full boost with no dv?so the car has no way of regulating the boost as its still revving so the mechanicals should be making boost?